NaNoWriMo 2018 • The Third Attempt

Whew, how is it this time of year again?

I participated in NaNoWriMo in 2016 and 2017, so this will be my third time attempting it. I won in 2016 with just over 50,000 words and that work was actually the base for the novel I’m currently editing! It’s pretty much the ideal outcome (short of actually getting it published – which is something I hope to do) and I really hope to replicate those same results.

Things didn’t work out last year and I bailed on my project after 25,000 aimless words. I’m going to spend the rest of this month planning my 2018 project because I don’t want to go in blind this time. I’d love to see my new idea become the bones of an actual book, and I think I have a better chance of doing it if I abandon the pantser life.

nanowrimo 2018

I’m going to start by writing out some character bios and drafting a beginning, middle and end. I’m not going to write out super detailed scene descriptions, but a loose plan will definitely help me keep on track. Plus if I feel like giving up, having a planned ending will stop me because I’ll be frustrated if I don’t finish it. Having that ‘The End’ goal to work towards really helps.

I’m taking inspiration from Ireland and the language for this project. Some of the characters will have anglicised Irish names (because the Irish spelling would be a nightmare for readers to pronounce and I don’t want to jolt them out of the story) and I’m going to weave a few Irish folk tales throughout as well.

The story will follow a girl called Tamsin Cleet. She lives in a prison colony in a land ruled by a queen hellbent on decimating the Draoi, a group of people with magical blood. Draoi rebels break into the prison to rescue one of their imprisoned people and Tamsin helps them, getting swept up in their cause in the process.

I’m excited to start this project as it’s been rattling around in my head for ages. It was actually the very first large-scale writing project I ever attempted, but it didn’t go well. There’s no point having an idea if you have no plot to marry it to. This time, I think I have my thoughts together.

Are you excited for NaNoWriMo 2018? What kind of story are you writing? Comment below!

Leave a comment